Print this page
Text resize increase font size decrease font size
election_000General Municipal Elections are held at the same time as the general election for Federal offices in the State of California.  The elective officers of the City currently consist of a City Council made up of five council members who serve “at large” representing the entire community, rather than a particular district; and who were elected to four-year overlapping terms.

Transition to By-District Elections

In August 2017, the City received written notice alleging that the City's at-large system violated the California Voting Rights Act.  While the City disputed the allegation, the Council determined that it was in the best interest of the City to transition from at-large elections to by-district elections.  In October, the City began the process by holding public hearings to solicit commentary prior to the drawing of draft district maps.  On December 19, 2017, judgment was entered in Tulare County Superior Court enjoining the City from utilizing an at-large voting system and ordering the City to proceed with the implementation of by-district elections.  In March and April, the Council held public hearings to receive public commentary on three draft district maps and election sequencing, with the Green Map being approved on April 3, 2018. 

On May 15, 2018, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 1845, an ordinance establishing by-district elections in five single-member districts in the City, and adopting the map describing the boundaries and identifying number of the five City Council districts in the City. 

All five current Council Members will serve as at-large council members until the end of their current terms. At the end of their terms, the council members can run for re-election by district if they live in a district up for election at that time.  Members of the City Council shall be elected in Districts 1 and 2 beginning in November 2026, and every four years thereafter.  Members of the City Council shall be elected in Districts 3, 4, and 5 beginning in November 2024, and every four years thereafter. 

  • District 1: Raymond Beltran, November, 2026
  • District 2: Greg Meister, November, 2026
  • District 3: Martha A. Flores, November, 2024
  • District 4: Donald Weyhrauch, November, 2024
  • District 5: Kellie Carrillo, November, 2024

In order to be eligible to hold any elective office City Council Members elected to represent a district must reside in that district and be a registered voter in that district.  Further, any candidate for City Council must reside in, and be a registered voter in, the district in which they seek election at the time nomination papers are issued.
If you have any questions regarding the Municipal Election please contact the City Clerk's Office, (559) 782-7464.
Doc app

Document Center

The Document Center provides easy access to public documents. Click on one of the categories below to see related documents or use the search function.

Categories always sorted by seq (sub-categories sorted within each category)
Documents sorted by SEQ in Ascending Order within category

Other Useful Links for Voters and Candidates12 documents

  • City of Porterville District Map
    document seq 1.00
  • City of Porterville District Map - Interactive Version
    document seq 2.00
  • Frequently Asked Questions
    document seq 3.00
  • Election Calendar
    document seq 4.00
  • Poll Site Lookup
    document seq 5.00
  • List of City Council Candidates
    document seq 6.00
  • Voter Registration
    document seq 7.00
  • Vote by Mail (Absentee)
    document seq 8.00
  • California Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC)
    document seq 9.00
  • Tulare County Registrar of Voters
    document seq 10.00
  • ROV: Candidate Seminar - June 26, 2024 - FLYER
    document seq 11.00
  • FPPC: Candidate/Treasurer Training - June 26, 2024 - FLYER
    document seq 12.00

Sign Up For Alerts

Learn More