Print this page
Text resize increase font size decrease font size

Frequently Asked Questions

faqs_000The City Council conducts its regular meetings every first and third Tuesday of every month, in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 291 N. Main Street.  Closed Session begins at 5:30 p.m., and the Public Session commences at 6:30 p.m.

You may send written correspondence to 291 N. Main Street, Porterville, CA 93257; fax to 559-782-7452; call 559-782-7466; or e-mail the Council Members.  Residents and members of the public are encouraged to attend council meetings and are able to address the Council on any matter of interest during the Oral Communications period at the beginning and end of each meeting.

You can sign up to receive a copy of the City Council Agendas, and receive other City Council News via electronic mail (email), by joining the City's e-mail list.  Click here to join now!

Members of the City Council shall be elected by-district in five single-member districts. One member of the City Council shall be elected from each district by the voters of that district alone.  Each member of the City Council shall serve a four-year term until his or her successor is qualified.

General Municipal Elections are held in November on even-numbered years. The nomination period opens mid July and appropriate papers to file and run for office may be obtained from the City Clerk. The City Council Member elected to represent a district must reside in that district and be a registered voter in that district, and any candidate for city council must reside in, and be a registered voter in, the district in which he or she seeks election at the time nomination papers are issued. For more information, please see 'Election Information'.

Sign Up For Alerts

Learn More